Leifur James

A Louder Silence

A Louder Silence

Skip to product information
Select Format:

View full details

RELEASE DATE: 05/05/2020


‘A Louder Silence' is the London-based composer and producer’s first full length release, released in October 2018, a recording process which was over a 2 year period. The album attracted immediate support from Pitchfork, KEXP, XLR8R, KCRW, Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide FM, BBC Radio 6 Music DJs, Electronic Sound 9/10, Mixmag 8/10, Future Music UK Album of the Month 9/10

Following sell out shows at Southbank Centre, Kantine de Berghain, Amsterdam Paradiso and a solo live performance at the Barbican Hall with german composer Pantha Du Prince in 2019, Leifur brings both his solo electronic and live instrumental show to Nova Batida, We Out Here, Naked City, Inner City Electronic, Bluedot, Wildeburg, Electricians Street and The Great Escape festivals this summer.

Leifur’s rich musical influences are laced through the release. Encouraged by his mother, a classically trained pianist, he learned to play the cello in his youth, developing a deep understanding of rhythm and melody that informs his approach to writing electronic music. Leifur plays the piano he grew up listening to in “Mumma Don’t Tell” and samples an indefinable percussive element to drive forward “Suns Of Gold.” “Night and Day” sees cello plucks and long melodic strokes interlink with a grooving synth line. Central to the album is the idea of space. Moments of organic, structured intensity are juxtaposed with stillness and near silence — dark and light; loud and quiet. This also forms the foundation for the album title: A Louder Silence.

Wurlitzer’ is the first piece of music he reveals from a new creative period after those sessions. The video was created by animator/director Balázs Simon, premiering on Boiler Room and has been nominated for the BMVA Berlin Music Video Awards in the experimental music category, airing at the British Film Institute BFI Southbank, London. The result is ravishing 4 minutes of piano-fused electronica haunted by ecological currents.

* White vinyl run of 1000 pressings. Sold out


KEXP "An evocative set of spacious, cerebral, nuanced electronic grooves"
MIXMAG "A subtle album that draws you further and further into an intimate world"
XLR8R "A fascinating and shapeshifting debut"
GILLES PETERSON “A great record”

CD Tracklisting
1. Alpine
2. Time
3. Suns of gold
4. Argonaut
5. Mumma don’t tell
6. Uncle blue
7. Night and day
8. Salaninam
9. Red Sea
10. Osho

Vinyl Tracklisting
1. Alpine
2. Time
3. Suns of gold
4. Argonaut
5. Mumma don’t tell

1. Uncle blue
2. Night and day
3. Salaninam
4. Red Sea
5. Osho